3 Benefits of Setting Goals with Groups

Arvell Craig
2 min readApr 4, 2022
Credit Unsplash

Have you ever heard this African proverb:

“If you want to go fast, go alone. If you want to go far, go together.”

I love that quote.

But I fear that it implies a huge lie.

The lie is an “either-or” dichotomy. ie, an “illusion of opposites.”

The Illusion of Opposites

So often we hear quotes and sayings that imply that you have to pick one or the other. ie, fast or far.

In reality, going alone helps you start, and going in a group helps you finish.

So the secret is both.

Why not start alone and connect with others to sustain the journey?

In fact, I’ve found 3 keys from pursing goals with others:

1. The group keeps me accountable. They keep my goal top of mind when I’d normally “start” many other new ideas.

2. The group members challenge and inspire me. When I see others in the group make progress, I’m challenged to model the same commitment.

3. The group shows me it doesn’t take a genius. In every group I’ve ever joined, I see people who don’t try to be smart or fancy… but they get 10x more done by taking simple consistent action.

This shatters my ego and reminds me to pursue “B-” work.

I don’t know what goals you have for the year, but if you need a group to run with… >> come see this. <<

Create a Great Day! — AC

--

--

Arvell Craig

As AI invades every area of society, I'm choosing to positively and proactively learn, leverage, and integrate it for personal and professional growth.